Best of NYC 2009 – List of Jurors and Writers

We would like to say a big "Thank You" to all the jurors who helped us, with their vote, compile the list of The Deli’s Year End Best of NYC Emerging Artists.

List of Jurors (in random order): John Donohue (The New Yorker) – Daniel Givens (Other Music) – Claire McNamara (Oh My Rockness) – Frank Garcia (Union Pool) – DJ MOJO – Andy Bodor (Cake Shop) – Doug DeFalco (Southpaw) – Pianos Talent Buyers – Darrell McNeill (BAM) – Jack McFadden (The Bell House/Union Hall) – Max Brennan (Lit Lounge) – Tammy Sprinkle (Soundfix) – Karen Soskin (East Village Radio) – Jessica Dessner (Sycamore) – Matt Tyson ( – Nora Walker (I Rock I Roll Blog) – Christopher R. Weingarten (1,000 times yes) – Marc Hutner (Ascap) – Brandon Haas (BMI) – Jamie Dominguez (SESAC) – Trevor Silmser (The Studio at Webster Hall).

The following Deli writers cast their vote as well: Andrew Spaulding, Erin O’Keefe, Nancy Chow, Paul Dunn, Ryan Henriquez, Liz Schroeter, Simon Heggie, Nicholas Palumbo, Joe Coscarelli, Lauren Piper, Charles Davis, Lindsey Goetz, Chloe Schildhouse.

Thank you to all the bands who participated to our poll either by submitting to the open contest or be simply being selected, and thanks to all the fans and Deli readers that animated our fans’ poll.

NYC Deli Editor in Chief Paolo De Gregorio also voted as part of the jury (we don’t really need to thank him, as he’s writing this!). Many other scene makers and Deli writers were asked to vote and – for a reason or another – they didn’t; we point this out because we want you all to realise that also this element (the missing votes) had a crucial influence on the results.

The Deli’s Staff